Skip to Main Content

ADVANCE Executive Committee

2017-2018 Executive Committee

Launched with an NSF grant and now supported by UMBC, this committee provides advice and counsel to the Provost on programmatic initiatives designed to advance the success of women faculty in STEM at UMBC.

Philip Rous, Provost, Co-Chair

Phyllis Robinson, Co-Chair, Co-Chair of WISE, Professor of Biological Sciences

Pat McDermott, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

Rachel Brewster, Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Linda Hodges, Director of the Faculty Development Center, ex officio
Kathleen Hoffman, Co-Chair of WISE, Professor of Mathematics and Statistics
Bill LaCourse, Dean of College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences, Professor of Chemistry
Wayne Lutters, Associate Professor of Information Systems

Autumn Reed, Director of STRIDE, Coordinator of ADVANCE  ex officio
Penny Rheingans, Director of CWIT, Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering

Janet Rutledge, Dean of Graduate School, Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering
Jane Turner, Director of Center for Space, Science, and Technology, Professor of Physics 
Liang Zhu, Professor of Mechanical Engineering